Monday, January 18, 2010

The 2010 Real Awards Announcement from Boston

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award: Charles R. Smith Jr., for “My People”

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor: E.B. Lewis for "The Negro Speaks of Rivers"

Coretta Scott King Author Award: Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, author of “Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal”

Coretta Scott King Author Honor: Tanita D. Davis, author of "Mare's War"

Coretta Scott King Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Acheivement: Walter Dean Myers

Coretta Scott King Steptoe for New Talent: Kekla Magoon, author of “The Rock and the River”

Sunday, January 17, 2010

2010 ACPL Mock Coretta Scott King Book Awards go to...

The Mock Coretta Scott King Book Illustrator Award winner:
The Negro Speaks of Rivers illustrated by E.B. Lewis, written by Langston Hughes

Illustrator Award honors:
My People illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr., written by Langston Hughes
Sweethearts of Rhythm illustrated by Jerry Pinkney, written by Marilyn Nelson

The Mock Coretta Scott King Book Author Award winner:
The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon

Author Award honors:
Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
Shooting Star by Fredrick McKissack Jr.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Looking forward to Sunday

I'm excited about Sunday afternoon! From 1 to 2 p.m. we'll have a conversation about the Coretta Scott King Book Award with author Fredrick McKissack Jr. who will share his perspective. Mr. McKissack along with his mother, Patricia McKissack, received a 1995 Coretta Scott King Author Honor Award for their book, Black Diamond: Story of the Negro Baseball League. His book, Shooting Star, is one of the titles to be discussed at our first ACPL Mock CSK Book Award Discussion and Election, which follows the conversation, and will take place from 2:15 to 5:00 p.m.

The Allen County Public Main Library is located in downtown Fort Wayne, IN. I hope to see you there.